@
@

Chancery Notices 10 November 2014


PRIVATE REVELATIONS AND CIRCULATION OF INFORMATION ON CATHOLIC FAITH AND MORALS

I. PRIVATE REVELATIONS ALLEGEDLY RECEIVED BY A PERSON NAMED “MARIA DIVINE MERCY”

From time to time in Church circles there have been those who, especially motivated by a wrong understanding of the Catholic faith or a misguided spirituality, circulate “private revelations” which have not been confirmed as authentic by Church authorities.  These messages, originating from different sources and circulated by means of books, pamphlets, leaflets, the Internet, etc., often give emphasis to divine retribution, the imminence of the end of the world and the Second Coming of our Lord Jesus Christ. 

Very regrettably, freely spreading the above-mentioned messages is becoming a common practice in our Diocese and abroad.  In particular, there are widespread messages (also compiled and published as a book named The Book of Truth), alleged to have been received by a woman who refers to herself as “Maria Divine Mercy”.  One of her messages asserts that Pope Benedict XVI was “the last true Pope” on earth, and that “the next Pope (namely Pope Francis)” will be the “False Prophet”.  This message clearly contradicts the legitimacy of Pope Francis as a validly elected Pope, and his role as Vicar of Christ on earth and the Supreme Pastor and Teacher of the universal Church.

In order that the faithful may not be misled by unconfirmed “private revelations”, Cardinal John TONG exhorts them, on the one hand, to always stay sober and alert as taught by Christ, and to strive for their personal sanctification and the transformation of society as befits their Christian vocation.  On the other hand, the faithful are to bear in mind the following Church teaching based on Vatican II and the Catechism of the Catholic Church (CCC):

  1. ‘ “The task of giving an authentic interpretation of the Word of God, whether in its written form or in the form of Tradition, has been entrusted to the living, teaching office of the Church alone.  Its authority in this matter is exercised in the name of Jesus Christ.”  This means that the task of interpretation has been entrusted to the bishops in communion with the successor of Peter, the Bishop of Rome.’ (CCC 85)

  2. ‘ “It is clear therefore that, in the supremely wise arrangement of God, sacred Tradition, Sacred Scripture, and the Magisterium of the Church are so connected and associated that one of them cannot stand without the others.  Working together, each in its own way, under the action of the one Holy Spirit, they all contribute effectively to the salvation of souls.” ’ (CCC 95)

  3. “This loyal submission of the will and intellect must be given (in matters of faith and morals), in a special way, to the authentic teaching authority of the Roman Pontiff, even when he does not speak ex cathedra (infallibly) in such wise, indeed, that his supreme teaching authority be acknowledged with respect, and sincere assent be given to decisions made by him, conformably with his manifest mind and intention ….” (Vatican II, Dogmatic Constitution on the Church, 25; cf. new Code of Canon Law, Canon 752)

  4. “Throughout the ages, there have been so-called ‘private’ revelations, some of which have been recognized by the authority of the Church.  They do not belong, however, to the deposit of faith.  It is not their role to improve or complete Christ’s definitive Revelation, but to help live more fully by it in a certain period of history.  Guided by the Magisterium of the Church, the sensus fidelium (i.e., a supernatural sense of the faith imprinted by the Holy Spirit in the hearts of the faithful, enabling them, as a whole, as the People of God, to be free from errors in matters of faith and morals) knows how to discern and welcome in these revelations whatever constitutes an authentic call of Christ or his saints to the Church.  Christian faith cannot accept ‘revelations’ that claim to surpass or correct the Revelation of which Christ is the fulfilment…”. (CCC67)

*  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *

The above-named alleged seer, persistently circulating worldwide her messages via the Internet and printed texts, has obstinately refused to identify and submit herself to Church authorities for proper discernment and evaluation.  Not only are her messages not conducive to greater fidelity and union with the Church, but they are causing a division among the faithful and run the risk of leading to formal schism.  Those messages contain various doctrinal errors and false prophecies.  Moreover, purporting to interpret the “signs of the times”, such as natural disasters and unprecedented human miseries in recent years, the alleged seer considers the Catholic Church, the global society and human destiny with a gloomy outlook and extreme negativity, and is spreading messages that provoke fear and anxiety, rather than bringing about a renewed faith, a more intense charity, a genuine conversion, trust in God’s love and mercy, and spiritual peace and joy.

It is the decision of Cardinal John Tong, therefore, that the messages of Maria Divine Mercy are not to be treated as of supernatural origin, nor are the faithful permitted to spread them by whatever means or discuss them in our Diocese.

II. CIRCULATION OF INFORMATION ON CATHOLIC FAITH AND MORALS

The faithful should take note of a long-standing, common misunderstanding which claims that with the abrogation of Canons 1399 and 2318 of the former Code of Canon Law (promulgated in 1917), alleged apparitions, revelations, prophecies, miracles, etc., have been allowed to be freely circulated and read by the faithful without requiring the express permission of Church authorities.  In this connection, the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith, in a Press Release reported in L’Osservatore Romano (English edition, 4 December 1996, p.12), made the following clarifications:

1) The interpretation given by some individuals to a Decision approved by Paul VI on 14 October 1966 and promulgated on 15 November of that year, in virtue of which writings and messages resulting from alleged revelations could be freely circulated in the Church, is absolutely groundless.  This decision actually referred to the “Abolition of the Index of Forbidden Books”, and determined that — after the relevant censures were lifted — the moral obligation still remained of not circulating or reading those writings which endanger faith and morals.
2) It should be recalled however that with regard to the circulation of texts of alleged private revelations, canon 823 §1 of the current Code remains in force: “the Pastors of the Church have the … right to demand that writings to be published by the Christian faithful which touch upon faith or morals be submitted to their judgement”.
3) Alleged supernatural revelations and writings concerning them are submitted in first instance to the judgement of the diocesan Bishop, and, in particular cases, to the judgement of the Episcopal Conference and the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith.

Apart from abiding by what has been clarified above (also applicable to such mass media as the Internet, etc.) by the Congegation of the Doctrine of the Faith, the faithful are to observe the following regulations regarding printed matters on religion (including prayers) or morals:

1) Books or other written material dealing with religion or morals may not be displayed, sold, or given away in churches or oratories unless they were published with the permission of the competent ecclesiastical authority or were subsequently approved by that authority. (New Code of Canon Law, promulgated in 1983,Canon827 §4).

2) Even in the case of printed matters that bear the “imprimatur” (ecclesiastical permission or approval for printing or publication), it is for Parish Priests, Rectors or the Pastors concerned, in the first place, to judge whether or not they may be made available in churches, chapels, etc., for the spiritual benefit of the faithful.  Should there be disputes, the Chancery Office is to be consulted.

 

Given at the Chancery Office,
10 November 2014.

Rev. Lawrence LEE
Chancellor

@
@

香港教區主教公署秘書長辦公處通告
二零一四年十一月十日


私人啟示及通傳有關天主教信仰及倫理的資訊

一、 一位名為「神聖慈悲瑪利亞」的人士所聲稱得到的私下啟示

在教會團體中,時有某些信友,尤其基於對天主教信仰的誤解或錯誤的神修,通傳一些所謂「私下啟示」(private revelations)。這些訊息來自不同來源,並透過不同方式,如書籍、單張、互聯網等散播。它們常強調的,就是天主的降罰、世界末日近在眉睫,以及主耶穌基督快要再次來臨。這些訊息卻未經教會當局確認。

很可惜,通傳上述訊息的風氣正在本港教區及其他地區漫延。某些正廣泛流傳的訊息(也收集並刋印為一本名為《真理書》的冊子),來自一位自稱為「神聖慈悲瑪利亞」的女士。在其中一個訊息,她聲稱教宗本篤十六世是世上「最後的真教宗」,而「下一任教宗(即教宗方濟各)」將會是「假先知」。這訊息明顯地否認了有效地被選出的教宗方濟各是基督在世的代表,以及普世教會的最高牧者和導師。

為使信友免受未經確認的私下啟示所誤導,湯漢樞機勸勉信衆一方面要如基督所教導,警醒地生活,並按基督徒的聖召,全力聖化自己及轉化社會,而在另一方面,信友應謹記以下依據梵二大公會議及《天主教教理》(教理)的教會訓導﹕

1. 『「正確地解釋書寫的或傳授的天主聖言的職務,只委託給教會內活生生的訓導當局,」即是與伯多祿的繼承者─羅馬教宗共融的主教們,「他們以耶穌基督的名義行使這權力」。(教理85)
2. 『「因此,很明顯地,由於天主極明智的安排,聖傳、聖經及教會的訓導當局,彼此相輔相成,缺一不可,且各按自己的方式,在唯一聖神的推動下,共同有效地促進人靈的得救」』(教理95)
3. 「(信友們)對於羅馬教宗的法定訓導權威,更應該(在信仰及道德範疇上)表示這種意志及理智的敬重服從,即使教宗不是以正式的宗座權威發言,亦當如此;就是說,(信友們)要依照教宗所明白表示的意見……尊敬地接受他的訓導,真誠地附和他的論斷。」(梵二《教會憲章》,25﹔參照新《天主教法典》第752條)
4. 『在過去的世代中,曾有一些所謂「私下」的啟示,其中有些曾被教會當局所承認。然而它們並不屬於信仰的寶庫。它們的任務並非「改善」或「補充」基督決定性的啟示,而是在某個特定的歷史時代中,協助人們更圓滿地去履行基督的啟示。在教會訓導當局的指引下,信友們的信仰意識(即聖神賦予信徒的一種內心對信仰的超性意識,使他們整體、作為天主子民,能在信仰及倫理道德範疇上不致產生錯誤的理解)應能辨認及接納,在這些私下的啟示中,那些是基督或聖人們向教會所作的真正呼籲。基督徒信仰不能接納那些企圖超越或修正基督所完成的啟示的所謂「啟示」……。』(教理67)

*  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *

上述聲稱為神視者的女士,雖繼續不斷地透過互聯網及刊物散播自己的訊息,但卻固執地拒絕前去與教會當局會晤及接受教會當局對她的訊息作應有的分辨及審斷。她的訊息不但沒有促進對教會的忠誠及團結合一,反而引起信友之間的分裂,甚或會導至裂教。她的訊息含有多種教義上的錯誤及虛假的預言。此外,這位聲稱為神視者的女士,以「辨別時代徵兆」為名,例如,以近年來發生的自然界災害及人類前所未經歷過的痛苦作為徵兆,對天主教會、全球社會及人類前景抱着灰暗和極端消極的觀念。她的訊息只引發驚恐和焦慮,卻未能助人重振信德、加強愛德、真誠悔改、對天主的愛及慈悲懷着信賴,以及享到屬靈的平安與喜樂。

基於上述理由,湯漢樞機提醒信友,「神聖慈悲瑪利亞」的訊息不應視為超性啟示,而信友亦不得在本港教區,以任何方式通傳或討論她的訊息。

二、 通傳有關天主教信仰及倫理道德的資訊

有一種已持續很久的普遍誤解,認為舊《天主教法典》第1399條及2318條的規定既已作廢,因此,信友可隨意通傳及閱讀那些聲稱為真確的顯現、啟示、預言及聖蹟等訊息,而毋須事前得到教會當局的批准。有關這方面,宗座信理部在一項刊載於《羅馬觀察報》(英文版,一九九六年十二月四日,第12頁)的新聞發佈,作了以下澄清﹕

(1) 對教宗保祿六世於一九六六年十月十四日所批准,並於同年十一月十五日所頒佈的決議,有些人士所作的解釋絕對不正確。他們認為,按這決議,可隨意在教會內傳播尚未經證實的啟示的書刊及訊息。其實,上述決議所針對的,是「廢除禁書目錄」 (Abolition of the Index of Forbidden Books) ,並且指定,有關禁制雖然被廢除,各人仍有道德責任不去傳播和閱讀那些危害信仰和倫理道德的書刊。

(2) 惟雖謹記,對傳播尚未經證實的私人啟示的書刊一事,新《天主教法典》第823條1項依然有約束力:「教會牧者……有權要求凡由信徒發行的涉及信仰和倫理道德的書刊,須由牧者審查」。

(3) 該等尚未經證實的超性啟示和有關書刊,應先交由教區主教審查,而在特殊的情況下,應交由主教團和信理部審查。

除遵循信理部澄清的上述守則(也適用於互聯網等媒體)以外,信友亦須遵循以下有關宗教信仰(包括禱文)或倫理道德刊物的守則﹕

1) 除非經教會當局許可出版,或出版後獲核准,不得在教堂或小堂內展出、販賣或贈送討論宗教或倫理道德的書刊和其他作品。(一九八三年頒佈之新《天主教法典》第827條 4 項)。
2) 縱使某份刊物附有「准印」(即教會當局對「刊印」或出版該刊物的批准),教會牧者得斟酌信友的神益,決定是否合適在教堂、小堂等地點展示或派發該刊物。

 

特此公告

秘書長
李亮 司鐸

二零一四年十一月十日